To brush wet hair, or not to brush wet hair?

“Don’t brush your hair when it’s wet!”

That’s something I’ve heard for a long time.  Since I was a little kid and my older sister tried to explain to me why she didn’t brush her hair when it was wet, because it snapped like rubber bands.

I’ve never had that problem, and do always brush my hair when it’s wet.

It seems like something out of a “Long Hair Bible.”  It’s one of the big “do nots” of long hair.

So I wanted to get to the bottom of this.

The fact is, Yes, your hair is weaker when it’s wet. How much damage that happens to your hair if your brush it wet seems to depend.

If your hair snaps like a rubber band when you brush it wet, then by all means, don’t do that, haha!

You also shouldn’t rip through your hair at anytime when you brush it.  Learn to be nice to your hair.

Brush, brush, brush.  Do not #2 usually seems to be to use a comb and not a brush.  This is something I still don’t understand.  If we’re talking about a comb vs a bristle brush, then of course a comb is going to be far less potentially damaging.  But I don’t see much difference between a comb, and whatever you call the kind of brush with the plastic teeth covered in plastic nubbies.

Everyone’s hair is different. Before you adhere to the Do’s and Don’ts of what is or isn’t good for your hair, pay attention to your hair first.  Evaluate if what you’re doing is actually damaging your hair or not. If you’re not sure, or can’t tell, go ahead and give something new a try. Don’t be afraid to go back to what you’re used to if you don’t see results.  Remember, when it comes to results it could also take a while to see them, especially if you’re trying to discern whether or not your hair is being damaged less.

My hair is thick, I’m tender headed and I don’t like combs. I always brush my hair very carefully because I don’t enjoy torturing myself.  I’ve never personally experienced the rubber band snapping thing. My hair is damaged for sure, but I’d blame it more on the past 2 (ish) years of putting junk in my hair, trying to curl it, straighten it, get more waves, and so on.  Not to mention not taking well enough care of my self in general. Frump girl had frump hair, haha!

That’s my  take on the hair brushing when wet issue.  My hair is not exceptionally long at the moment, and I want to keep it this length until next summer, but I do intend to grow it out again eventually.  I prefer longer hair, but I think it will be easiest to keep track  of any changes that occur due to No Poo if I keep it at the same length for a while.

My No Poo adventure will begin again either tomorrow or Friday.  Depends on when my hair needs a wash.  I’ll be glad for it though, I’ve been finding the strong smell of shampoo/conditioner a little repugnant.

2 thoughts on “To brush wet hair, or not to brush wet hair?

  1. thekissters says:

    I’ve always heard that advice too. But if you want to de-tangle I’ve been told a VERY wide-tooth comb does the trick without any hair breakage! AK

Care to share your 2¢?

